Posted by : Monitor Admin | On : January 18, 2015

Tickets and sponsorships available

Special to The Monitor
SEVEN POINTS–The Library at Cedar Creek Lake will hold its annual Denim & Diamonds dinner and fundraiser at 5 p.m. Saturday, March 28, at the Athens Country Club.
The dinner will be followed by music, dancing, live and silent auctions.
The library depends heavily on Denim & Diamonds to provide critically-needed operating funds. Last year’s event generated half of the library’s annual operating budget. Without such success, the library would be in dire financial condition.
As in past years, there will be entertainment, dancing, a fabulous dinner, refreshments, live and silent auctions featuring incredible trips, jewelry, event tickets, and much, much more, along with a number of surprise guests.
The dress code is casual but many attendees will likely wear western attire complimented with baubles and bling.
“What a great opportunity to have a fun evening, while also making a difference in the community,” Denim & Diamonds Chairperson Cherry Rigley said.
Tickets and sponsorships can be purchased at The Library at Cedar Creek Lake in Seven Points, or www.denimanddiamondsevent.com.



Posted by : Monitor Admin | On : January 15, 2015

SH 334 causeway bridge widening plan moves forward

Monitor Staff Reports
GUN BARREL CITY–State Highway 334 Bridge Expansion Delegation members Scott Six and Scott Confer told chamber members Jan. 8 state officials agree that the bridge should be expanded.
The two-lane bridge connects Gun Barrel City with Seven Points.
The men, along with Cedar Creek Lake Area Chamber of Commerce president Jo Ann Hanstrom, recently met with State Senator Robert Nichols, who told them “the project is a go.”
The 334 bridge expansion has been added to the Unified Transportation Plan, Nichols told them.
Planning meetings between the Texas Department of Transportation’s Tyler District and Tarrant Regional Water District are set for the end of January.
Initial studies show the traffic count exceeds the bridge’s design capacity, but its structure is sound.
Early estimates put the price of the project at $26 million and the timeline for starting construction three to four years out.
“Senator Nichols told us that the preliminary work consisting of a $2 million environmental and engineering study on the bridge expansion should be finished by mid-2015,” Six said. “The Senator also met with TxDOT and said that they will coordinate with 35 other agencies in moving the project forward.”
A two-lane bridge is planned alongside the current bridge.
“It is a question of funding,” Confer explained. “The project is going to permitting now.”
A press release from the chamber the following day recounted the effort to lobby the state for the project’s importance.
Letters of support from the various cities on the north end of the lake, including fire and police departments, and from Henderson County offices were presented and the delegation spoke of the danger and the inconvenience of the current bridge situation.
Specifically, there are no shoulders and in times of accidents or other bridge damage, access from one city to the other is limited to a long trip around the north or south end of the lake. The added distance in times of bridge closure can be life-threatening for citizens on the west side in need of emergency medical treatment.
The group came away from the 2013 Austin meeting with a commitment from TxDOT to allocate $2 million to conduct the required environmental assessment and update the engineering.
In late fall of 2014, Nichols, chairman of the Senate Transportation Committee and a former state highway commissioner, was contacted for guidance on how to move forward to make sure the project was still on track.
“Even though we’re going to have two new state reps in a few days, and this is no longer a Legislative issue, we owe a great big thank you to State Reps. Lance Gooden and Jim Pitts for leading us through the process in the initial stages and for getting us the audience with TxDOT in Rep. Pitts office in 2013,” Hanstrom said.
In addition to Confer and Six, the committee of local residents moving this idea forward includes then chamber chamber board of directors chairman Marty Mullins, Gun Barrel City councilman Dennis Baade, and former mayor Paul Eaton, along with former Seven Points mayor and current Justice of the Peace Kevin Pollock.
Hanstrom stated the chamber will invite TxDOT Tyler District Engineer Dennis Cooley to speak at the July 9 camber luncheon to update the community on any progress.



Posted by : Monitor Admin | On : January 11, 2015

Special to The Monitor
KAUFMAN–Planning is under way to address long-term mobility and transportation needs across Kaufman County.
This county-wide plan will be coordinated with locally adopted city plans, as well as the plans and programs of adjacent counties and the Texas Department of Transportation.
Two identical meetings are set to accommodate residents on both side of the county. The first is being held at 6 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 20 at the Kaufman High School Cafeteria at 3205 S. Houston St. in Kaufman. A second one is set for 6 p.m. Thursday, Jan. 22 at the Herman Furlough Middle School Cafeteria at 1351 Colquitt Rd. in Terrell. Each meeting begins with an open house to review map displays and sign in. A presentation and general Q&A session begins at 6:30 p.m.
At 7 p.m. input on key issues and needs will be sought in small group discussions at various information stations. Light refreshments will be served.
The plan will place an emphasis on regional connectivity and will guide the County by identifying the location and type of transportation needs to meet anticipated short and long-range growth. The Transportation Plan is expected to be completed in December 2015.