County negotiating lease for public defender’s office

Posted by : Monitor Admin | On : December 1, 2012

Kaufman County Historical Commission

Monitor Photo/Pearl Cantrell
On behalf of Kaufman County, judge Bruce Wood (center right) presents a certificate of appreciation Nov. 26 to Kaufman County Historical Commission president Mary Kate Benge (center left). She is joined by seven of 17 new and returning commssion members (from left) Stephen E. Howie, Johnny Countrymen, Judy McSpadden, Jamie Laywell, Jeff Baska, Betty Brown and Charlene Orr.

By Pearl Cantrell
Monitor Staff Writer

KAUFMAN–Kaufman County Commissioners agreed to a commercial lease agreement with an option to purchase a building at 108 N. Washington St. Monday, Nov. 26.
The building will be used for the Public Defender’s Office.
The option to buy names a purchase price of $99,000.
Commissioners Tom Manning and Jerry Rowden expressed their desire for the county to buy the building outright. Judge Bruce Wood suggested that he and county attorney John Long work through the details of a possible purchase and report back to the court at a later time.
Commissioner Ray Clark lead a discussion about the need for either increasing the frequency of picking up recyclables or purchasing additional collection containers at the Precinct 2 Barn. He said the one 20-yard container there now is used by citizens from all parts of the county. “It overfills weekly,” Clark said, with paper, plastic containers and aluminum. And is picked up weekly, costing the county $31,200 a year. However the addition of two more containers at a cost of $3,500 with reduced collection would bring down the cost to $20,800 after the initial purchase price.
Commissioners delayed action, so Clark could do some more research into the topic.
In other business, commissioners:
• appointed new commissioners to the Kaufman County Historical Commission for the 2013-14 year. They are county emergency services manager Stephen E. Howie and Tony L. Stephens, both of Terrell, Sandra Lewis of Crandall and Lisa Nalls of Kaufman. Returning commissioners reappointed include Jean Ann Ables-Flatt, Mary Kate Benge, emeritus member Betty Brown, county treasurer Johnny Countryman, Martha Decker of Kemp, Charles Gillenwater, Elizabeth Grubbs, Stan Kapp, Judy McSpadden, Charlene Orr, Pat Raymond, Glenda “Suzie” Smith and Crissy Stephens-Meador.
• approved amendments to the KCHC Bylaws.
• received a number of staff reports.
• discussed briefly payroll issues regarding tracking employee requests for leave from work against payroll. The county is seriously reviewing the benefits of instituting a time clock system for county employees to better manage human resources.
• paid bills totalling $1,171,724.24.