Mabank Panthers advance to regional cross country meet

Posted by : Monitor Admin | On : October 27, 2012

Mabank cross country team

Courtesy Photo
The Mabank Lady Panther cross country team took second place and qualified for the Class 3A Region II cross country meet. The meet is set to be held at Arlingon’s Vandergriff Park Saturday, Nov. 3.

Monitor Staff Reports
CANTON–The Mabank Panther varsity cross country teams advanced to the Class 3A Region II meet after the ladies finished second and the boys finished third at the District 15-3A meet in Canton Oct. 22.
Led by strong top-10 performances by Heather Bayless (second, with a time of 13:58), Sydnee Pottorff (sixth, with a time of 14:37) and Kourtney Holyfield (seventh with a time of 14:54), the Mabank varsity girls placed second with 45 points.
Completing the scoring for Mabank were Allie Sandlin (13th), Kelsie Clark (17th) and Kristina Flatt (19th).
Led by two top-10 finishes, including Garrett Graham’s fifth place finish, with a time of 18:43, Mabank’s varsity boys team brought home the third place team trophy on a 71-point effort.
Rounding out the scoring for Mabank were Caleb Massengale (ninth), Adam Reeves (13th), Cameron Boren (18th) and Brett Butler (26th).
Athens captured top honors with 54 points, followed by Van with 66 in District 15-3A.
The junior varsity boys brought home the championship plaque as they won their division in grand fashion.
For the varsity girls Heather Bayless finished 13:58 2nd, Sydnee Pottorf 14:37 6th, and Kourtney Holyfield 14:54 7th to led the lady panthers. Allie Sandlin ran a strong race finishing 15:33 13th and Kelsie Clark 15:47 and Kristina Flatt 15:56 finished 17th and 19th respectively.
“The coaching staff is very proud of the runners and appreciate their efforts,” Mabank head cross country coach Tracy Carter said.
“A very big congratulations goes out to the junior high Mabank boys team for winning the district championship, as well,” Carter added.
The team was led by Harman Beyer who was the individual district champion with a time of 12:27.
Finishing fifth with a time of 13:26 was Josh Odom. Jace Capehart placed sixth with a time of 13:40, Aaron Wilson placed eighth with a time of 13:50 and Jason Gallegos took ninth with a time of 13:51.
“The coaches are very proud of the runners performance and appreciates their efforts,” Carter commented.